Most Insurance Accepted | Call Now: 1-844-843-8935 | Email: help@originsrecovery.com
844-843-8935

Meet Dylan Wallace, LCSW, Program Director of Transitions

Posted on

What brought you to the field of addiction treatment? And then to Origins?

I always knew I wanted to be a counselor, but told myself addiction was “too close to home.” It wasn’t until I was in my practicum of my master’s program that I took the suggestion of my field advisor to try an outpatient substance abuse facility. I was hesitant, but willing. I remember the first night being part of a group therapy session and I thought to myself “I don’t want to do anything else, this is my passion!”

Origins came to me. I had worked at Hanley Center since the beginning of 2014 and liked what the team had to offer, so I decided to give it a shot. I had no idea how much I was going to enjoy working for the organization and the opportunities which would unfold before me.

What one highlight within your specialty area?

I consider my specialty working with young adult men; helping them go from some of the most difficult times in their lives to seeing that there is hope in recovery and they are capable of achieving more in their life. This is my passion and keeps me coming back to work. I’ve had the opportunity to work with people from many walks of life which has taught me more than I could have ever imagined.

What have you learned through working in treatment?

I have learned an incredible amount in this industry. I’ve learned more about addiction, recovery, therapeutic approaches, and myself than anticipated. I’ve had my eyes opened to the impacts of addiction across people and how it doesn’t discriminate based upon demographics. I’ve met some of the most intelligent, creative, successful, and kindest people while working in treatment. There are numerous people who have taught me valuable lessons along the way.

What are your credentials and certifications?

I have a Masters in Social Work from the University of Pittsburgh with a certificate in mental health and a Bachelors in Psychology from University of Utah. I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker in the state of Florida and am EMDR trained.

What do you enjoy outside of work?

I have a wife and two daughters who are my world. We have two cats, Salem and Phoenix. We do all kinds of things together and are a very active family. I enjoy the outdoors and love to mountain bike, snowboard, camp, hike, and everything that involves nature. I grew up hiking the Rocky Mountains of Colorado, finding my connection to nature at an early age. I love to try new things, especially if it involves adrenaline.

I also love to play and watch sports, and am a diehard Denver Broncos fan.

We’d love to help you, a friend, a loved one. Call 844-211-9058